Try it, you’ll like it!

I’m not a big lover of things. I don’t like to collect or pile up much stuff. I want to be as flexible and lightweight as possible. But sometimes, things come around that are just awesome and make life simpler. And when I discover these things, I want to share them! Here are three things that I have found or have been given to me lately that I just love having around.

Reusable snack/sandwich bags: I have always felt guilty about throwing away plastic, both for waste of money and sadness for the earth. I used to try to save Ziplock bags as long as I could, because really, putting pretzels in a bag that I had previously used for Oreos can’t be that bad, right? But that technique can’t last as long as these things. My first set of Lunchskins was given to me by my sister for Christmas. I’m not sure she even realizes how much these have changed my life. I haven’t used a Ziplock bag since! I have a sandwich bag (pictured below) and two snack bags. They are washable and last forever. You can find these on their website or at stores like Container Store. I will never buy plastic baggies again!

lovely photo from the creators' website

Universal travel adapter: There are probably lots of versions of this out there, but I love mine by Kikkerland. It was given to me a couple of holidays ago by a good friend who knows all about my travel habits. It is small, sturdy, easy to figure out, and works in more than 150 countries. I never have to worry ever again about what kind of electrical outlets will be in my next destination, because I have them all right here!

thanks for the image, kikkerland

Ankle-high rain boots: Rain boots have always seemed like a good idea to me, especially as I am currently living in one of the wettest cities in America and may very well move to another one in the near future. But those tall, heavy chunks of plastic that I see on most people never appealed to me. Doesn’t anyone make a decent looking rain boot, maybe one that doesn’t ride all the way up my leg? Yes, Bogs does. Some of their stuff is expensive, but you can search on discount websites for the same thing. I got my $100 boots for $35! These boots are amazing because they are warm and snuggy, completely waterproof, lightweight, and SHORT. I love them so much that I even wear them when it’s not raining.

my darling boots from bogs

Hope you’ve enjoyed my bit of advertising. I wish I could profit from these shout-outs, but of course I do not. I only wish I could have thought of the reusable snack bag thing earlier. Think think think, what else do we need to be reusable?!

2 responses to “Try it, you’ll like it!

  1. Bento boxes! They also help cut down on ziploc use.

    Those reusable grocery bags that fold up tiny. I always carry one with me and they are lifesavers when my purse overflows or I have gym clothes to drag home with me.

    Also, these mesh bags from the Container Store (http://www.containerstore.com/shop?productId=10000235&N=&Ntt=mesh+bag) are sooo great. One is my makeup bag and I use others for electronics wires/chargers when I travel, spare toiletries, etc.

  2. Where did you get your bento boxes? I want to seriously look into that for bringing my lunch to work in the near future.

Leave a Reply

