I am a morning person

One of the questions we ask our study abroad students in their housing applications is whether they are a morning person or a night person. What do you think they usually say? Duh. It’s overwhelmingly “night person.” I would have said the same thing, too, when I was 20 and living with a bunch of other 20-year-olds. But I finally feel like I know better. I know I am a morning person. 

How does one come to this conclusion? This is how I thought about it:

  • If you stay up late because you need to watch Jon Stewart or need to catch up on Facebook, you’re not a night person. You are just being kept up by technology.
  • If you stay up late because you didn’t even finish eating until 10pm, you’re not a night person. You are just being kept up by digestion.
  • If you stay up late because the people around you are still awake, you’re not a night person. You are just being influenced by the action around you.
  • If you can’t get up in the morning because you want to sleep more, you’re not a night person. You just went to bed too late.
  • If you can’t get enough done during the day and have to do it at night, you’re not a night person. You just couldn’t manage your time (or put too much on your plate in the first place!)

I used to think the most wonderful sleep schedule was the 2am-10am. Eight hours! Staying up past midnight! Not waking up until double digits! Brunch! It was fun.

But now? You can call me old if you want (but I’m not), but I see a lot of value in the 10pm-6am sleep schedule. Eight hours! Waking up with the sun! Nature! It’s healthy.

Mornings are fantastic. The sun comes out. The birds chirp and the dogs prance. Do yoga. Go running. Buy groceries. Catch up on reading the news. Spend some quiet time with a hot mug of something. Over the past few months, I have found mornings to be peaceful and positive. The whole day is in front of you! It’s nights that are stressful and negative. There is so little time left…look at the clock tick…I should really go to bed, shouldn’t I?

If you’re a night person, I still love you. But if you have doubts, if you think you might be a morning person, just let it out. Be free, be proud, and I’ll see you when the sun comes up.

Leave a Reply

