World Itinerary 2009

Round-the-world trips are full of options. We planned to travel in East Asia, the Middle East, and Europe, but we didn’t have an actual itinerary beyond the first week on the road! Spontaneity led us on an amazing adventure. Here’s the four-month itinerary we ended up with as we traveled west around the globe, starting from Washington DC.

Our route on a map: Google Map

Friday, January 23: drive to Pittsburgh, PA

Saturday, January 24: fly to Los Angeles, CA

Sunday, February 1: fly to Seoul, South Korea

Tuesday, February 3: fly to Chiang Mai, Thailand

Saturday, February 7: overnight bus to Nong Khai, Thailand

Monday, February 9: cross the Friendship Bridge to Laos

Wednesday, February 11: tuk tuk to Vientiane, Laos

Friday, February 13: fly from Vientiane to Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Sunday, February 15: bus to Siem Reap, Cambodia

Thursday, February 19: bus to Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon), Vietnam

Saturday, February 21: overnight bus to Nha Trang, Vietnam

Monday, February 23: overnight bus to Hoi An, Vietnam

Wednesday, February 25: bus to Hue, Vietnam

Thursday, February 26: overnight bus to Hanoi, Vietnam

Thursday, March 5: bus to Nanning, China

Friday, March 6: arrive by overnight bus to Hong Kong

Sunday, March 8: overnight bus to Xiamen, China

Wednesday, March 11: fly to Shanghai, China

Friday, March 13: train to Hangzhou, China

Saturday, March 14: train to Nanjing, China

Monday, March 16: overnight train to Tai Shan, China

Wednesday, March 18: overnight train to Beijing, China

Tuesday, March 31: fly to Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

Friday, April 3: weekend in Dubai, UAE

Tuesday, April 7: bus to Muscat, Oman

Friday, April 10: drive to Liwa oasis, UAE

Tuesday, April 14: drive to Al Ain, UAE

Wednesday, April 15: fly to Athens, Greece

Sunday, April 19: train to Thessaloniki, Greece

Thursday, April 23: fly to Munich, Germany

Sunday, April 26: train to Regensburg, Germany

Tuesday, April 28: train to Prague, Czech Republic

Friday, May 1: fly to Copenhagen, Denmark

Thursday, May 7: bike trip in Skåne, Sweden

Saturday, May 9: fly to London, England

Thursday, May 14: fly to Dublin, Ireland

Sunday, May 17: train to Galway, Ireland

Thursday, May 21: fly to Boston, Massachusetts

Tuesday, May 26: fly to St. Louis, Missouri

END OF TRIP!

Advertisements

3 responses to “World Itinerary 2009

  1. I loved Ireland, Spain (Barcelona) – the sites are great and the people wonderful.
    Paris….is Paris… lots of history…
    England has great history and wonderful theatre (but the people we found were a bit stiff_.

    If you can, go to Spain, check out all of Gaudy’s work- it is fun and incredible.
    Anne Marie

  2. Hi Sara and Jonathan,
    Jonathan, your Mom just told me of your adventure…how exciting. I do not consider myself much of a world traveler, but in the past few years I have been to Paris and more recently, Rome (then headed south to Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast). Mr. Maher ran the Paris Marathon while we were there then headed to a business meeting in Barcelona (which he highly recommends to you). I stayed in Paris and really really loved it, and I think the both of you would too. But, I was totally blown away by Rome and the Amalfi Coast (we stayed in Positano). I would recommend Rome over Paris, I loved the cobblestone winding streets, the piazzas, the fountains, the people, the pizza, the wine and, of course, gelato. Hope you get there and I will continue to read about your journey. Be safe!! – Denise Maher

  3. Pingback: Blog improvement project! | f a b u l a r z·

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s